Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Ronald Weblum's blog
4 décembre 2009

December the 30th, 1995

December the 30th, 1995

 

As you noticed, I haven’t kept up with my blog lately. I didn’t feel like telling about my personal life so much. Today is the last day of the year 1995. I guess I could sum up quickly what happened during this year.

First of all, I have spent much time with Eleanor and our group of friends. Today, many good memories come up to my mind. Summer was incredible, all of us went to a huge concert in Minneapolis, and there were our favorite band: The Foo Fighters. It was on the 4th of August.

concert_foo_fighters  Foo Fighters in Minneapolis

 

Besides this, Charlie, a friend of mine has a house in the countryside, in Colorado and we all went there to spend a week right before our first day of school. Then, I started my junior year. The most amazing memory from this year is the trip to Johannesburg with Eleanor. It was fantastic.

 

 I don’t know if you remember but I wrote an article about Nelson Mandela. Since then, I’m found of South Africa. My dream was to go this country: a country which suffered so much from Apartheid and discrimination. Going to South Africa, I just wanted, there, to feel how hopeful could be the South Africans after Mandela election.

We had been saving money for a whole year before we went to South Africa. I wanted to discover the land of Nelson Mandela. South Africa is a beautiful country, amazing animals as giraffe, elephants, zebras; there were amazing landscapes too. But I enjoyed the most was human relationships. They are simple and truthful, even with a stranger. I wish I could happen sometimes in the US but it just does not. 

Some pictures I took there:

south_africa   south_africa_2
Here some friends I met there



During this all year, our group of friend met really often, at least once a week. We discussed a lot, about politics. We agree to say that we are not going in the right direction. I have been to South Africaand I understood there how terrible was the situation there. I have been told it was even worse in the west part of Africa. I wish we wouldn’t speak so much about money and material possession but we would consider every human as a human being. To that extent, I feel anti-conformist. This is a point I share with the grunge philosophy.

Charlie, Bruce and Will play in a grunge band, in Seattle. They have many friends and they play live for some events like Proms or High School Highcomings. 

Publicité
Commentaires
Ronald Weblum's blog
Publicité
Publicité